Wordless(ish) Wednesday: Meet Penelope

I don’t think we’ve been formally introduced.

She is hard to photograph well in my tiny hallway.

She’s a Trek Lexa SLX, found on super-sale at a sporting goods store that at first didn’t seem promising, given that it only sold Treks and had nothing in the size I was expecting to need. But she was there, and small enough, and perfect.

Penelope is actually a stolen name (it was also the name of my Powerbook). I don’t name a ton of things in my life, apparently just computers and modes of transportation, so it shouldn’t have been hard to come up with something original, but she looked like a Penelope to me. Especially that subtly-patterned-almost-floral-but-not-quite-that-girly silver grip tape.

She lives in the hallway, and I plan to take her out for regular care and feeding.

Tagged ,

5 thoughts on “Wordless(ish) Wednesday: Meet Penelope

  1. katie says:

    ohhhh. she’s beautiful.

  2. Naomi says:

    penelope is pretty! i just bought a bike too, but i don’t know how to ride it yet so it just sits on my trainer in my living room.

    • Kimra says:

      I’m just learning to ride too! I was supposed to take a road cycling class through REI but it got rained out and the next isn’t till January, so I’m slowly trying to get comfortable riding in Golden Gate Park. A trainer is a great idea!

  3. […] week” plan includes more swimming, yoga or OnDemand pilates, and some care and feeding of Penelope. Running? Maybe Sunday. Maybe […]

  4. Emily says:

    If you haven’t already, get interrupters (brakes) for Penelope. I have determined that they are as necessary as wheels for us with baby hobbit paws. They only cost about $30, and all bike shops can install them. Then, you will be safer, and you might even like riding up on the bars.

Leave a Reply

