Tell me a story about the first time you clipped in

Was it amazing and wonderful and freeing, like you could ride for hours?

Was it horrible, terrifying, leaving you beaten-up and bloodied before you ever left the parking lot?

Was it just sort of “eh”? Not such a big deal, and really, you’re not sure why there was ever such a fuss?

No matter the story, I would love to hear it, because bolstered by my (over?)confidence from Paradise Loop and feeling some peer pressure from Wednesday’s post-track drinking rehydrating session, I went out and did this:

20120309-012421.jpg

And got the pedals to match.

On Saturday, this thing goes live. Possibly no further than 50 feet from my car, but still: it’s happening.

And I want to know about your first time. (…clipping in)

You must have blogged about it, right? This is the Internet.

Send me your links, your triumphs, your disaster stories. I want to read them all.

Because honestly? You lived to write them, and that’s what I really need to hear.

Tagged

5 thoughts on “Tell me a story about the first time you clipped in

  1. Kristina says:

    This may not help you, but I bit it big time the first time I clipped in. Now, I think that it’s pretty funny because I was sooooo clueless about everything. But I remember that there was a stop sign, there were lots of cars, there were two other bikers who witnessed my demise and were very sympathetic (lots of “ooooh, are you okay?!” comments). I came out totally unscathed except for a very bruised ego. Fortunately, it prepared for the many other times that I would fall over. It’s this incredible experience because you suddenly feel it happening, you’re fallllinnnnnggg, and there is just nothing you can do (or nothing that I could do!).
    Let me also say that I didn’t/don’t have the spd pedals which I think ARE considerably easier. If I had to do it all over again, I would definitely go for SPDs.
    On a final note, I can’t imagine biking without clipless pedals now.

    • kimretta says:

      I got a teeny-tiny taste of the falling situation yesterday, just standing in the hallway, trying to show my husband how clips work. Surprise! Bikes want to move forward when you start to pedal them. Surprise! Bikes should not move forward indoors in the direction of the kitchen table while you are attached to them. Sigh.

  2. katie says:

    the first time, I fell down. but then I didn’t fall again for a long time!

    • kimretta says:

      If you’re looking for the creepster who opened a bunch of old pages on your blog recently looking for early cycling experiences, REPORTING FOR DUTY. Something told me if there were any doozies, the internet would know.

  3. Diana says:

    I think its badass. I shopped for a road bike today and essentially had this same convo with my trusted bike guy. And HE even fell over the first time he clipped in!

Leave a Reply

